Contact Beyond the Screen

I have been very proud of myself for staying home, saving money, and relaxing this whole week the majority of the week. Recovering from last week’s whiplash was much needed. But, if you are anything like me, you can only maintain hermit status for so long. I needed some human interaction that wasn’t on a screen and conversation that didn’t start with the @ symbol.

The list of friends I had drinks and visited with were as follows:

Friend 1: A friend of over three years, with whom I worked in the service industry while in college. We didn’t exactly get along or really not get along when we initially met, but at some point we became great friends. It perplexes me when these phenomenons occur, and the thing is, almost all of my best friendships happen this way. Indifference towards each other straight to holy-shit-you-complete-me. I guess we just don’t realize how connected we are with our friends until we start thinking about how things were in the beginning. I’ll admit, we had help from a few bonding apparatuses… anything alcoholic and Sex & the City/Taxi Cab Confessions to name a couple.

did we just become best friends?Friend 2: An older gentleman with whom I became friends because wine. I like to call him Coppola (if you drink wine it makes sense). He is a regular customer at my aforementioned service industry job who drinks nothing but red wine and diet coke. He is also the gentleman who accompanied me on my first real crawfish feast this year. He is in his sixties. The conversations that emerge from his presence are side-splitting. While he berated me for my toenail polishing skills, I berated him for his Demerol and wine induced behavior this past weekend at festival. Apparently I forgot to paint one toenail, but what kind of person notices these things?

jimmy fallon wine chugging gif

Acquaintances Friends 3 and 4: Coppola’s friends. A man named Travis (who also attended the crawfish gorge mentioned above) and his lady friend Janice who is from Kansas. They are also thirty to forty years ahead of us life amateurs. Strangely enough, Janice got stuck on the very topic of Sex & the City. She deemed herself a Samantha of sorts. Hand gestures and suggestive facial expressions were involved. Kansas… who knew? I think we surpassed acquaintance status fairly quickly.

samantha sex and the city gif

Friend 5: My ex-boyfriend, also from the same service industry job. I suppose when you spend that much time with a bunch of folks your age in an occupation that almost requires partying every night together after closing time, you kind of all become intertwined. If you haven’t guessed yet, I worked in a chain restaurant. Think Waiting minus the health code violations. This guy is one of the only exes I managed to (eventually) remain friends with. Unfortunately, sometimes break ups are too ugly to ever salvage the underlying friendship. Luckily, we both got over it. Then again, last night he was detailing his latest sexcapades one minute and telling my friend that him and I were surely to be married the next. He also likes to quote How I Met Your Mother, incessantly. Good times.

Barney stinson legendary

I believe it is safe to say that I accomplished some pretty diverse exchanges last night. Mission accomplished. Now, back to @theinternet.

Also, I like GIFs. It gets unhealthy.

becca cord signature

About becca3416

Becca Cord is a twenty-something year old southern ballerina turned humor writer and video editor. Having lived in Louisiana her entire life, she is now perusing her travel dreams while starting her own free-lance Web Marketing business and organizing a nation wide blogging event, Blogger Interactive. She believes one of her callings is making people laugh, and she intends to do so. You can find Becca on her personal blog, Facebook page, or Twitter @becca25tofly.

Posted on May 4, 2012, in Adventures, How I Knew, Humor, Silly and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. bone aches can be relieved by using some over the counter analgesics, i used it for a while and it is great.”

    Freshest content article on our personal webpage
    http://www.melatoninfaq.com/melatonin-for-jet-lag/

  2. “it gets unhealthy” that’s funny.

  3. What a life you lead…
    Great post!

  4. fivereflections

    you party every night? – my aching bones 🙂
    David in Maine USA

  1. Pingback: Types of Friends.Limitless. « Nesapfich

Talk to me

