These Boots Were Made for… Flying?

Zip Lining in denham springs, la

[What the hell am I about to do? Why am I wearing these ridiculous boots?’]

The “fly” part of 25tofly is the figurative version of the word. This Saturday, I got a little practice with the literal form. Are you ready for it? I sprouted wings y’all. Not really, but I did go zip lining

In Denham Springs, LA there is a popular attraction called Tiki Tubing. Basically you float down a shallow river and use that as an excuse to drink whole ice-chests full of beer. Everyone gets sunburned, and no one points out the fact that there are no actual restrooms on the 5 hour lazy river. It’s really laid back if you catch my drift. After all this relaxing, refilling, and releasing I suppose I went all YOLO mode. Next thing I knew, I was scrounging around my trunk for any form of close toed shoes that I could find and ultimately found myself atop a four-story high wooden platform in a bikini, designer cowboy boots, and about to ride a cable about 100 yards to my death the next wobbly tree house wanna-be.

I should never have said YOLO. Even if I intended it to be read mockingly. I apologize.

Besides the two gentlemen I was tagging along with and that I had only known for a total of maybe two hours, there was also a family of four along for the flight.  I’ll admit I felt rather pathetic that two ten year old kids were jumping off the platform without the slightest bit of hesitation while I was shaking in my boots (quite literally). To make things even more interesting, the dad of said kiddos was the ultimate dad on vacation with his goofy and excessive picture taking. The whole time his hands remained permanently fixed to his hips in the kind of stance that would make Napoleon Dynamite’s posture look appealing. The only way he could have been more stereotypically a dad on vacation is if he had sported a fanny pack and said things like “gee wilikers”.

Boots and brady bunch aside, the experience and rush were incredible. After the first run, all fear subsided. I wanted to just zip line my way back home to Lafayette. For one whole day I was disconnected, relaxed, and exhilarated. What’s next, sky diving? Someone strap me to the ground for a while before I get too out of control.

becca cord signature

About becca3416

Becca Cord is a twenty-something year old southern ballerina turned humor writer and video editor. Having lived in Louisiana her entire life, she is now perusing her travel dreams while starting her own free-lance Web Marketing business and organizing a nation wide blogging event, Blogger Interactive. She believes one of her callings is making people laugh, and she intends to do so. You can find Becca on her personal blog, Facebook page, or Twitter @becca25tofly.

Posted on June 11, 2012, in Adventures, Experiments, Humor, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I think the boots were quite fetching…

  2. I’ve always wanted to go zip lining!! I think it sounds like SO much fun!!

    And do sky diving – you thought zip lining was a rush?! Plus, it’s not as scary as you think, because since the sky stays the same, and you don’t SEE things rushing past, it feels like you’re suspended in midair, with just a lot of other air rushing past. 🙂

    • Really? I would imagine myself going in to immediate cardiac arrest. Then again, I used to not even go near roller coasters. Maybe one day I will work my way (and build my courage) up to sky diving! Thanks for that comment!

  3. the experience and rush “were” incredible.

    eh, i knew you were too pretty to be smart. (just kidding)

Talk to me

