5 Things To Love/Hate About Traveling

airport terminal

Have you ever seen a dog trying to walk the wrong way on a moving sidewalk? You should.

This Labor Day weekend I decided buy a ticket back up to Boston on Saturday to visit someone. I woke up Friday realizing I had absolutely no plans for the last free day off of work that I have this year (besides Thanksgiving and Christmas which are mandatory family time holidays), so I figured what the hell. I was traveling alone for the first time. This resulted in an abundance of observations, conversations with strangers, and playing Yahtzee… with myself. Here are five positive things that I enjoyed while traveling alone:

1. Overly nice flight attendants who wink at little children, give you extra peanuts, and don’t scold you for not knowing what “put your bag all the way under the seat” means. Guilty as charged.

2. Plenty of time for thinking about nothing or thinking about everything.  Or, brushing up on your gaming skills. I guarantee that I can now beat anyone at Yahtzee nine times out of ten.

3. Taking off and landing. Window seats. I believe I am the minority in this opinion, but in the words of Ricky Bobby, “I wanna go fast”.

4. The enjoyment of snooping on other people’s reading selections, or whatever boredom activity in which they choose to partake, and then manifesting their life story in my head. Some people might just call this people watching.

5. When luck intervenes, and the other two seats in your airplane row are occupied by clones of yourself. Commence immediate bonding, mutual appreciation, and talk of sympathy for others’ unfortunate seat assignments.

BONUS: Seeing a rainbow from above. I was totally having this kind of moment.

Planes that go up must come down. There are some great must-experience moments of traveling and flying, but there are also some less pleasant aspects of such travel:

1. If you don’t know what you are doing, at least be good at pretending. People will take advantage of you and/or become unnecessarily enraged at you for getting in their way.

2. Airplane toilets are terrifying. Flushing is like a game of jack-in-the-box.

3. The oh-shit-bars and handles in Amtraks aren’t there for decoration. I learned this the hard way when I almost slid full-forced like a bowling ball into a group of multicultural human pins. You hold on dammit. You hold on.

4. People like to seat-jack you and then look at you like you are an imbecile when you try to correct them, especially when you aren’t being backed by a travel companion. Take advantage of flight attendants, and I don’t mean in the mile high club sense of the phrase. This is usually frowned upon.

5. Middle seats. It’s like being the middle child. The aisle seat is like the oldest getting all the freedom, the window seat is like the youngest getting spoiled with a great view, and you are in the middle getting in the way.

becca cord signature

About becca3416

Becca Cord is a twenty-something year old southern ballerina turned humor writer and video editor. Having lived in Louisiana her entire life, she is now perusing her travel dreams while starting her own free-lance Web Marketing business and organizing a nation wide blogging event, Blogger Interactive. She believes one of her callings is making people laugh, and she intends to do so. You can find Becca on her personal blog, Facebook page, or Twitter @becca25tofly.

Posted on September 4, 2012, in Adventures, Humor, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 21 Comments.

  1. I love travelling alone. It’s the only time I get me time. When I travel with hubby he likes the window seat and I like the aisle. And here’s the fun bit. I plonk down in my seat and stay there until the plane has jolted back down to earth. My dearly beloved is a fidgety traveller so he keeps trying to squeeze past that 2mm space between my knees and the seat in front. It’s these little contradictions that make life so much fun

  2. You make a cute little travel blogger, Becca!
    Maybe we can collaborate in the future…

  3. I would just like to know…if you play Yahtzee against yourself, how do you tell if you win?

    • It still keeps your score when you play solo, but you can also play against “characters” with names like Sensei. I did a little of both to track my progress. I am that cool.

  4. Oh, yeah. Sorry about the weird drunk email I sent.

  5. One of my friend’s daughters, who is 14, said that when she was on a flight recently, an odd man left the bathroom before her. He had been in there a long time, and she was dying to go. She went in after him and, in her words.discovered it was “covered in s**t,” There was poop in the sink, on the floor, the walls, even on the mirror!

    Get this: she not only didn’t scream for the flight attendants, she quietly cleaned it up herself!! She’s more of woman than I am.

  6. Christopher De Voss

    I would also like to apologize for the weird drunk email I sent as well.

    • I think you are both just drunk. It’s okay, I am too. We should all just drop the coy e-mail charade and open a chat room or something. Yes, drunk internet chat room party.

  7. Love double rainbow guy. I try to hold it when it comes to using the plane bathroom. There is a whole lot of anxiety around that situation that I prefer to avoid.

    Also, sorry about my weird drunk email. So weird of me.

    • I can never NOT laugh at that guy. I try to avoid it at all costs at well, but this time I was going through some bloody marys and broke the seal too early I suppose.

      Weird drunk e-mail? Sounds awesome, but I never received it 😦

Talk to me

