Like my new friend David, I often find myself in awe at the sometimes overlooked, sheer power that blogging has to connect people. I believe in the majority of positive attitudes and mindsets that are seen scattered across this community. I believe in setting examples. For this reason, I rarely take time to consider the negative. There are events that occur in places where the same freedoms I have do not seem to exist to those simply wishing to do the same thing we all are: speak our minds. Please read this and say hi to David if you don’t already know him. He is one well rounded dude.

Here is the original article about Sattar: http://www.theatlantic.com/international/archive/2012/11/the-death-of-sattar-beheshti-dissident-blogger-in-iranian-police-custody/264974/

ASpoonfulofSuga

Hi Everyone,

My name is David and I’m the guy who created this site as well as the character of MrMary MF Poppins. I am a very private person, and have never used my first name on this site, but something rather serious has happened that has given me pause for reflection.

Today while working on the site I realized that in a few days this blog will turn one years old. I really love writing here so much so that I have neglected my other blogs.  You the readers have given me the opportunity to be both serious silly and every other emotion in between those extremes. Nowhere else could I blur the lines between sybaritic diction and imagery, openly vocal  philosophical  reflection, satirical recapitulations of the events of the day, and  all around merry-making as evidenced in this picture below where I went full method for…

View original post 643 more words

About becca3416

Becca Cord is a twenty-something year old southern ballerina turned humor writer and video editor. Having lived in Louisiana her entire life, she is now perusing her travel dreams while starting her own free-lance Web Marketing business and organizing a nation wide blogging event, Blogger Interactive. She believes one of her callings is making people laugh, and she intends to do so. You can find Becca on her personal blog, Facebook page, or Twitter @becca25tofly.

Posted on November 8, 2012, in Adventures. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. You knew I would like David! How cool is he!

  2. Beautiful share, Becca.

  3. That is a really beautiful post. I didn’t appreciate the power of the blog until I started one and got to “meet” so many wonderful people. I am constantly blown away by how much of a community this actually is. We need to learn the value of free speech. Thanks for pointing me in the direction of Mr Mary. He’s a cool dude.

Talk to me

