Without Chains

I am so cliché right now:  barely touching my Japanese takeout, wearing work out pants that I mainly wear when I am not working out, and sitting on the faux wood floor of my soon to be ex apartment. It’s every bit a scene out of a familiar movie. It mimics that one montage scene in which the main character is making some sort of significant transition; picture clips of furniture slowly disappearing from a dwelling as the main character is going through a very obvious and dramatic emotionally reflective period. There is usually some heavy sound track playing in the background for added effect.

Shit. I have my Ipod playing in the back ground right now, and I am sitting on the floor all aloof. Can you surpass cliché? What would that be called?

Although my dumplings are cold, I have to admit that the sound of my favorite Pandora radio station reverberating between my scant living room walls actually feels comforting. It is a good thing I also have 7 layer dip to counteract the cold take-out. I should just go ahead and start making origami piñatas while I am at it. After all, all of my entertaining gadgets are stacked like a failed game of Tetris into a bunch of overpriced boxes at the moment.

cat oragami

This is the best I can do.

There is something incredibly relieving about freeing yourself from material belongings. On Saturday, I have 1-800-Got-Junk coming to haul away all of my earthly possessions. Okay, not all of them. I am keeping my bar stools. They have had too many appearances on this blog for me to dismiss them like that. They are practically as famous as Jack, who, for those of you who just questioned it, I will also be keeping. Most likely. Maybe. I guess it all depends on how many times he decides to shit on my bath mat between here and April 27th.

I am already enjoying the clutter free space a little too much. Once the movers haul off the last big pieces of furniture from this residence, I will have to consider traveling through my apartment via back handsprings. I’ll finally know what it feels like to be Jack, minus demolishing everything in sight. Although, I will have to Google “how to do a back handspring” first. Don’t worry, I bounce.

Some of you have inquired as to where exactly I am moving. Luckily, none of those inquiries have had any Sleeping With the Enemy undertones. I had some fun being pretty vague in response to the question, but the truth is that I am moving in with a friend temporarily. I am voluntarily downsizing my possessions and giving up my solitude. “But why?” you may be asking.

Because, I am allowing myself the freedom of spontaneity. Without the constricts of a lease and a bunch of untouched furniture, I will be more than ready for whatever the upcoming months throws my way. Hopefully it throws tomatoes. You read that correctly. I love tomatoes.

Be sure to check out David’s logo submission for the Blogger Summit 2013 in between my sporadic posts this month. I think we need a little competition going on up in here. Submit your logo submissions by e-mail (25tofly@gmail.com), Twitter, or Facebook. There will be a prize for the winner (and you don’t have to be attending to win)! 

becca cord signature

About becca3416

Becca Cord is a twenty-something year old southern ballerina turned humor writer and video editor. Having lived in Louisiana her entire life, she is now perusing her travel dreams while starting her own free-lance Web Marketing business and organizing a nation wide blogging event, Blogger Interactive. She believes one of her callings is making people laugh, and she intends to do so. You can find Becca on her personal blog, Facebook page, or Twitter @becca25tofly.

Posted on April 9, 2013, in Humor, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 107 Comments.

  1. Good for you! spontaneity is the way to go! 🙂

  2. Ah, yes, I know the feeling. We’ve moved 5 times in the last 5 years (this time, hopefully, we’ll stay here for a while as we bought a house!), and before that I moved another 5 times at least, and all between four countries. So, the joys of packing and purging your possessions is quite familiar!

    It’s funny how easily we forget about the things we’ve thrown away. It really does show that they are, well, just things…

    • You’re right on the money Pixie. That doesn’t surprise me. You seem like the wandering type, and there is nothing wrong with that (congrats on the house by the way)!

      I have lived in a different apartment or rent house for all seven years that I have lived in Lafayette, LA. BUT I must say that I have never gotten rid of this much junk. If anything, when I have moved before I just kept adding stuff, mainly furniture. I am so glad I’ve untied myself.

  3. I love minimalism! Go for it and enjoy 😀

  4. This is so exciting Becca. Moving and purging have helped me before reach some sort of clarity and happiness. Fly by the seat of your longjohns! I’m also trying to do the same, but I want to go big and move across the country, or to another country, so my purge will take time, which is good cause I gots a shit ton of books to try and let go of. Can’t wait to hear more about it! I’m glad you finally got Jack back!

    • Thanks Amber, if you ever end up in the same time zone as me you better let me know! It made me smile when you said my old tagline :).

      Jack doesn’t seem as happy to see me. I bet Adam didn’t discipline him at all. Kind of like when you get a “cool” baby sitter who lets you get away with murder while your parents are gone. Ha!

      • Your old tagline seemed like the only thing to fit 🙂 As for Jack, well, kids will play when the parents are away right! I’m sure you’ll paw-whip back in shape in no time.

        • I’m already on it! I have been giving him “Purina Naturals” for a few days as punishment. It’s like vegan cat food. Bleh.

          Just Kidding, I always feed them that because healthy, not punishment ;).

  5. “Because, I am allowing myself the freedom of spontaneity.” YES YES YES!!! This is your moment to do whatever you want. Although you might be a bit afraid, there’s nothing to be afraid of. The things you’ll regret most are the “failures” that existed from not taking the leap.

  6. I think that sounds like an awesome decision. Cliche, perhaps, but cliches are necessary sometimes. I love my kid/husband, but this post made me envy your freedom a little bit.

    • Ashley, thanks for the encouragement there! We all want what we don’t have. I suppose that is human nature. Some days I wish I had special people to come home to after a long hard day, but freedom is definitely a priority to me right now. Check in in five years, and it could be a different story. Who knows?

  7. I think that piece of tin foil has a bad cattitude.

  8. i love tomatoes, especially campari. but vine ripe are the cheapest and pretty good too. in new jersey – and maybe elsewhere – we have “ugly” tomatoes. they look stupid, like pumpkins gone wrong, but they taste great.

    i’m sorry, were you saying something? something about bouncing? can you vlog that?

  9. I love the way you wrote this! I love that you are being spontaneous! I love that you want me to throw tomatoes, but they are very messy, so I might just throw grapes!

  10. Hey, wait a second…isn’t this a transcript from a Full House episode?? 😉

    Congratulations. You have guts. There’s no doubt about it. It’ll be the best thing you’ve ever done for yourself, there’s no doubt about it.

    I think you should post a video of your back hand springs. That would be too cool for school! Adam, Cut. It. Out.

    P.S. I have Jack? Still waiting on a counter offer…?

  11. I love tomatoes, too. When I was a kid, I used to sneak Grandma’s salt shaker out of her kitchen, run down to the tomato patch, and sit in the garden eating tomatoes. I think I finally got spanked for that. 😉 Good for you making a big change in your life. Getting rid of your apartment will put more cash in your pocket, and then you can run all over the country having adventures. I hope that is what you have planned. 🙂

    • It’s definitely what I have planned Maddie! Even if I don’t end up moving away permanently, I am definitely looking to travel with my new found freedom. First to Michigan, then the Blogger Meet Up in Austin, and then who knows! And maybe some in between! Thanks Maddie.

      P.S. if you come to the Summit, I will treat you and I to a Caprese salad full of tomatoes.

  12. Thank you for getting rid of your stuff. I have helped many people move and they never realize how much junk they accumulate. You go girl!

    Best of luck on whatever your next move is.

    • Thanks Jon. I think the only thing I have the movers boxing up for me are my pots and pans. I can’t get rid of those just yet. I like to cook too much! But other than that, I have the basics left.

  13. Enjoy your downsizing, Becca!

  14. My ex was military and when we moved to Germany for a 3 year tour all we could take were our suitcases we flew with, and a few boxes of items. It really is kind of a freeing feeling. We can live with so much less than we think. We clutter our all aspects of our lives with “stuff”. You go girl! I am just worried this “friend” you speak of is that Beastie Boy lookin’ freak with the nicotine stained fingers!! hahaha Love you Adam!!

  15. Change is good, change is fun- especially when you are in control. As long as Jack keeps his business off the mat, you are good to be wherever you want. Sometimes just getting rid of stuff is so liberating. I’m liking the cliches. It’s all good.

    • Thanks ma’am. It really feels like I can breathe again. You don’t realize how much pointless crap you can accumulate over the years. I like the idea of easily being able to pick up and make a change at a moments notice. Glad you enjoyed the post.

  16. Becca, I’m excited for you. You are making change happen. Best of luck!

  17. Not only are you living the dream, your aware enough to recognize it. Flexibility is key! Go live it up.

  18. Downsizing is good … before life gets all complicated with stuff. 🙂 Enjoy.

    • Yes ma’am, no good can come of stockpiling useless crap. I truly believe that at some point It starts to clutter your mind as well. If that makes any sense. I hope I can keep this mindset for years to come. I have too many places to see and experiences to enjoy to worry about the material things in life.

      Am I sounding like a monk or something yet?

      • Not at all. I wish I had done that when I was 20-something. I just moved to a new house. We lived in the old house for 8 1/2 years. That’s a lot of clutter. I have thrown away so much just plain useless crap. I don’t know why we collect things sometimes. AND, I’m completely ashamed about how dirty/dusty/gross things get when they pile up all over the place. Disgusting. Less stuff = less stuff to clean!

  19. Hope you can carry the unencumberedness into teh new place.

  20. Good luck reaching enlightenment, Grasshopper.

  21. Good for you! I would pick up and move tomorrow if I could. That kind of change is incredibly exciting! I’ve made two huge moves in the past and they were the best decisions I’ve ever made. Congratulations!

    • Really? I love hearing people’s stories on the subject. Where were your moves to and at what points in your life?

      Thanks Adrienne. You’re good people.

      • I moved out to Colorado right after I graduated from college. I went by myself, didn’t know anyone and it was the best decision I’ve ever made. Totally changed my life and what I realized was important to me. I moved back home to Florida after 2 years but left for Seattle a few years later. I was 25 at the time.
        Every now and again I get insanely antsy to move again. Like I said, I would move in a heartbeat. If I had my way, I’d pack the Masshole and I up with the essentials and move up to Seattle tomorrow.
        I’m excited for you. Wherever you end up, it’ll be good because you did it on your own. Plus you can always go back.

        • Sounds like you had your fair set of adventures and all on your own terms! Thanks for filling me in. It’s motivational to me. And you are right, home will always be here if I leave and decide to come back.

  22. I have just recently started to read your blog and I love it! Great perspective on life. I think that you are showing a lot of intelligence in paring down your possessions so that you can be mobile and flexible in chasing any opportunity that comes your way. Cliche movie moments happen in my life all the time, at least in my mind. 🙂 I do not like tomatoes because they suck, but it takes all kinds to make the world go round. Good luck with your move I hope it works well for you.

    • You’re comment brought up my mood this morning Jonathan! I am glad to see a fresh face around these parts. Thank you for reading, and the compliment! I promise I wont make you eat any tomatoes. Grab a pair of long johns and relax. You’re in a good place :).

  23. Becca,
    Purge, move, and shed some skin. A new steeping stone.
    Embrace the clichés.
    Le Clown

  24. You are fortunate ~ I would love to get rid of a lot of things in our house, but alas, I live with two packrats. It is a constant struggle to keep ahead of the clutter.

  25. Cliches are so cliche. Be original.

  26. Sounds like a good plan to me, you don’t need to be tied down when you’re planning your big flight!

  27. I was hoping for a time lapse video of your apartment emptying out. Oh well. Maybe next time.

  28. I envy your so “okay” with giing/throwing away your stuff. Sigh. Sometimes I just want to run away. lol.

    • I wasn’t always this carefree! I used to hold on to everything. Check out this old post from last year. I have come a long way.

      • Carefree? To give away your stuff?
        I agree about simplifying your life while you’re young. That ifs so very important.
        I’m old, however. Lol. I love things. 😉 Things usually help me get other things done, easier. 😉
        I’m proud of your new aspiration to simplify. I KNOW you will be happy you did. And you will be even MORE grateful when you actually have those things back.

        • One day I will bask in the glory of my trinkets and whatchamacalits, but for now I must live light and go where the wind takes me! Thanks for the insight. Enjoy your things that help you do other things. Is that like when you have a tiny ladder to help you reach your big ladder?

  29. Change is what you need sometimes, I think. Everyone needs a good cliche moment in the movie of their lives every once in awhile. In terms of the moving around, I’m living vicariously through you, so keep us all posted on how it goes!

  1. Pingback: Modern Nomad | 25ToFly

Talk to me

