Marty McFlyster

There were three things I really enjoyed about television growing up. One, for reasons I cannot comprehend, was marching along to Jane Fonda work out tapes in my ballet leotard in the middle of the living room (minus the hip thrusting exercises… I was shy). Another was playing my brother’s Nintendo, even though all I ever accomplished was getting stuck in walls. The third, more obvious thing I enjoyed about television, was a good ass movie. Not to be confused with an ass movie.

There was my obsession with Ghost and all things Patrick Swayze. There was my Ren & Stimpy phase,. Although not technically a movie, I did particularly enjoy some episode where Ren ate a bar of soap in outer space. No, I didn’t try to eat soap. Not more than once at least. Somewhere in there was Look Who’s Talking and sequels and a new obsession with all things John Travolta, but today I want to talk about one movie in particular. Back to The Future.

backtothefuture_hoverboard

What a dreamboat

I think I was was more giddy for McFly than his hornball mother. Yikes. I don’t know if it is the soundtrack, the idea of flying sports cars and hover boards, or the fact that I also had a girl crush on Loraine that made me love this movie so much, but love it I did. Marty McFly was spunky, his dad was a mess but equally adorable, and his mother rocked that peach color prom dress harder than any dress has been rocked in history. Plus, I am a closet oldies fan. As soon as they paired the climax of the movie with the tune of Earth Angel, they weren’t just tugging at my heart strings, they were putting them in a high power wood chipper.

As some of you already know, I am involved with freelance work involving video editing on top of my personal YouTube shenanigans. No, I am not about to announce my ambitions to become a Hollywood film director. What I am about to announce, however, is a project for which I have been burning my flux capacitor at both ends. That’s a lot of plutonium, I assure you. Amy, of The Bumble Files put me in contact with an inventor and friend of hers at the beginning of this year. We’ll call him Doc for sake of theme. Doc had an invention, and he wanted my help to spread word of it via a Kickstarter campaign. What was the invention you ask?

A real life hoverboard.

At this stage, it is a miniature scale hover board toy that has potential to evolve with more research and development. I’d like to ask that you check out the campaign if you have a free moment.  Not only is the technology and science behind this thing as exciting as George McFly upper-cutting Biff’s sleazy grin, but I put a lot of work into the video editing and promotion of this thing. I’m like a proud mom. Just not one who tongue wrestles her offspring. Backing the project isn’t the only way to support the NeoLev either, you can share the links and Like/Follow us on Facebook and Twitter if you’d like to help. Thanks Flysters!

Check out the NeoLev Kickstarter Campaign Here

kickstarter button

Follow Neolev on Facebook & Twitter

facebook button

NeoLev on Facebook

twitter button

NeoLev on Twitter

P.S. While we are on the topics of Kickstarter projects, please check out my friend David Harding and TJ Lubrano’s project Elevenses, a card game for 2-4 players in which respectable ladies strive to serve the most scrumptious morning teas possible. They haven’t launched yet, but you can follow them on Facebook to get in on the action!

becca cord signature

About becca3416

Becca Cord is a twenty-something year old southern ballerina turned humor writer and video editor. Having lived in Louisiana her entire life, she is now perusing her travel dreams while starting her own free-lance Web Marketing business and organizing a nation wide blogging event, Blogger Interactive. She believes one of her callings is making people laugh, and she intends to do so. You can find Becca on her personal blog, Facebook page, or Twitter @becca25tofly.

Posted on October 1, 2013, in Humor, Technology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. Ughhh. Limited internet. I am definitely returning to have a look. Found your site on WordPress’ sites I might enjoy.

  2. I’ve liked the page!

    So you know what’s awesome? Joe and I both work in the Philadelphia airport….and Joe had Christopher Lloyd sitting at his bar about 3 weeks ago.

  3. Flew in from Hook’s – this is all very cool!

  4. Ooh, me likey! Me wantey! I’m rather broke right now but I wish Doc the best of luck with his Kickstarter. Howzit work? I noticed it’s only presented hovering above metal, so is it magnetic? In this case, it couldn’t be used everywhere, which would be somewhat of a downer. I wanna skate on water like Marty!

  5. That’s very cool.

  6. Very cool, Becca, and you did a great job on the video. What an awesome project. I hope you become a millionaire one day because of it. (I loved the movie, too. Watch it every time I find it on television.)

    It’s been a busy summer for a lot people around here. I haven’t been by for a long time, but I’m still a fan of yours. Rich and I were talking about you just two nights ago. I was semi-lamenting the fact that I never tried to introduce you to our son, and he wanted me to write to you and ask what specific shade was your red. He wants me to give it a go. 😉

    Seriously, I wish you much success with this project!

    • Thanks Maddie! I’ve spent so much time with this. Every compliment, word of support, and backer makes a difference. I don’t know about millionaire (god that would be nice), but if we get funded I will get paid a little something. And that’s better than nothing, right?

      Rich is my bud! Who is this son of yours? I don’t know if I know the exact shade red of my hair, but I haven’t colored it in about a month or two, so it is looking more strawberry blonde these days.

      Thanks again for everything Maddie. It was good to see your comment here today :).

  7. I suppose this is nice and all, but what I really want to see are hover BIKES. They’re even better than the Leader!

    • Maybe one day with enough funding! These things take money, time, and more money unfortunately. But that’s where crowdfunding is awesome.

      We were thinking hover PARKS (think theme parks and roller coasters) where all the rides are hovering…. which could totally include bikes? Yeah!

  8. Reblogged this on You've Been Hooked! and commented:
    She needs no introduction.
    You know her. You love her. She makes you laugh to the point of pain with her irreverent humor and killer smile. She’s Becca Cord and she has something to say and a project to kick start…

  9. I know I won’t receive a response – I’ve fallen out of favor with the court of Queen Becca the First – but this was one of the coolest posts you’ve ever released into the blogosphere, young lady!

    “I think I was was more giddy for McFly than his hornball mother. Yikes. I don’t know if it is the soundtrack, the idea of flying sports cars and hover boards, or the fact that I also had a girl crush on Loraine that made me love this movie so much, but love it I did.”
    Classic Becca.

    Well done, Ms. Cord.
    Well done.

    • Hook,

      No falling out of favor. I have just been in a whirlwind of a summer. I’m sure many have noticed I am not posting and commenting like I used to. But with great responsibility comes great sacrifice.

      Thanks for the continued support. I am glad you enjoyed the post. I had fun writing this one, and not just because I am trying to promote my hard work on the Kickstarter campaign!

      Becca

  10. I love Back To The Future! That product is brilliant, if only I could spare some cash to back you guys. I can see this product evolve to a real hoverboard now. How awesome would that be? 🙂 I wish you ALL the luck in the world and I’m keeping my fingers crossed here that your kickstarter is a success!

    (Big thanks for the mention about the tea game. XO!)

    • I understand people don’t have a lot of disposable income to back this thing, but all of the social media stuff is free and just as good of a support tool :). But you know that, because you ALWAYS have my back with the retweets and FB posts galore. Thank you do much TJ. It means so so much to me!

      I wish best of luck to the Elevenses game campaign! I’ll be here ready to broadcast!

  11. Rohan 7 Things

    Wow awesome! Good luck to him with the campaign, the miniature ones would make great gifts and the big ones, well, that would be amazing 🙂

    Rohan.

  12. Hoverboard shmoverboard – tell me more about this AMAZING sounding card game!!! 😀

  13. Of course that’s freakin’ COOL and excellent video as well. Becca you are so talented. You had me a Marty… I loved that movie too and I love Crispin Glover – he’s so werid and creepy…

  14. Yay!!! I’m so proud of you,Becaa!! Everything looks great and you guys are off to a strong start! Awesome!

Talk to me

